Call for Nominations for NAFOA's Leadership Awards


Call for Nominations for NAFOA's Leadership Awards

January 20, 2021

NAFOA invites you to submit nominations for the 14th Annual Leadership Awards, which recognizes the excellence, innovation, and achievement of those who have inspired and shown a commitment to advancing tribal economies.

The two NAFOA Leadership Award categories we are seeking nominations for:

Executive of the Year- Financially healthy tribal nations have excellent staff at the helm. This award honors an Executive, Finance Director, Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer, or other senior financial leader of a tribe or tribal subsidiary enterprise, who has demonstrated: cutting-edge thinking in developing the financial plans of the tribe, leadership in effectively sharing suggestions with the tribe, and success in implementing ideas for the overall betterment of the tribe. 

Education Program of the Year- This award honors a creative and effective education program that furthers knowledge and understanding of business, economic development, or related fields. The award is open to programs developed by tribes, non-profits, universities, schools, and other institutions. The program should enrich the lives of Native people and empower them to make sound financial decisions.

Please see the Nomination & Eligibility Criteria Form for additional details.

Awards Timeline:

  • Nomination Deadline: January 29, 2021
  • Award Winners Notified: February 5, 2021

Interested in becoming a sponsor? 

Contact VaRene Martin at

Become a Sponsor