Call for Nominations for the 11th Annual Leadership Awards


Call for Nominations for the 11th Annual Leadership Awards

January 30, 2018

NAFOA invites you to submit nominations for the 11th Annual Leadership Awards, which recognizes the excellence, innovation, and achievement of those who have inspired and shown commitment to advancing tribal economies.

Annual Award Categories Include:

Tribal Leader of the Year

To effectively lead a tribal nation, tribal leaders are tasked with the responsibility of making major financial decisions. This award honors a tribal leader who has displayed significant foresight and resolve in the financial advancement of his or her tribal nation. 

Executive of the Year

Financially healthy tribal nations have excellent staff at the helm. This award honors an Executive, Finance Director, Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer, or other senior financial leader of a tribe or tribal subsidiary enterprise, who has demonstrated cutting-edge thinking in developing the financial plans of the tribe, leadership in effectively sharing suggestions with the tribe, and success in implementing ideas for the overall betterment of the tribe.

Education Program of the Year 
This award honors a creative and effective education program that furthers knowledge and understanding of business, economic development, or related fields. The award is open to programs developed by tribes, non-profits, universities, schools, and other institutions.  The program should enrich the lives of Native people and empower them to make sound financial decisions.

Deal of the Year
This award recognizes a tribal deal or financial venture completed during 2017.  The deal should be original in structure and its terms should be innovative for the tribe. The deal should have a lasting positive effect on the overall economic status of the tribe and its members, and be beneficial to Indian Country as a whole.

Award Timeline:  Nomination Deadline: February 23, 2018

Award Winners Notified: March 9, 2018

 Nomination & Eligibility Criteria Form

For more information, please contact VaRene Martin at

10th Annual Leadership Award Winners:

Tribal Leader of the Year:

Rodney A. Butler,Chairman, Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation

Executive of the Year:

Laura Mayton

CFO, Karuk Tribe

Education Program of the Year:

American Indian Graduate Center (AIGC), Know Before You Go Program

Deal of the Year:

Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe/Te wá tha hón:ni Corporation/ MGE, LLC

Casino Facility Re-Financing

Conference Links

Member Tribe Registration Form

Register Online

Register by Mail


Sample Justification Letter

Hotel & Travel Information