Congressional Leadership Announced for the 115th Congress


Congressional Leadership Announced for the 115th Congress

November 16, 2016

Senate Republican Conference Elects Leadership for 115th Congress

The Senate Republican Conference elected its leadership team for the 115th Congress. Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY) has won a second term as Senate Majority Leader. His entire leadership team was also re-elected today, including Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY) who Chairs the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs.

House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) was unanimously re-nominated by his party to continue to serve as speaker in the 115th Congress. However, Ryan still must win a majority by 218 votes by the full House when the new Congress convenes in January. He is expected to easily win that vote, but could still face some defections even within his own conference. Senate Republicans have not yet announced their assignments to head committees.

Republican Leadership in the 115th Congress

Senate Republican Leader:
Mitch McConnell

Senate Republican Whip:
John Cornyn

Senate Republican Conference Chairman:
John Thune

Senate Republican Policy Committee Chairman:
John Barrasso

Senate Republican Conference Vice Chairman:
Roy Blunt

National Republican Senatorial Committee Chairman:
Cory Gardner


Schumer Expands Senate Democrat Leadership Team

Sen. Charles E. Schumer (D-NY) won the backing of his caucus today to take over as minority leader for the 115th Congress from retiring Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV).

In the new leadership, Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM) becomes a ranking member on the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. Although not officially a democrat, Schumer created a new leadership post, the Chair of Outreach, for Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT), who has been actively involved in resisting the Dakota Access Pipeline movement. It has not been mentioned who will replace Sen. John Tester (D-MT) who is currently the Senatorial Campaign Committee Chairman and is up for re-election in 2018. Sen. John Tester has led the charge on many Native American issues, including access to quality health care and the Tribal Law and Order Act. 

In addition to filling out the leadership team for the 115th Congress, Senate Democrats also rearranged who will serve as their top members on several committees. House Democrats have postponed their vote on the new leadership until November 30. 

Democratic Leadership in the 115th Congress

Senate Democratic Leader and Chair of the Conference:
Senator Charles Schumer 

Minority Whip:
Senator Richard J. Durbin III

Assistant Democratic Leader: Senator Patty Murray

Chair of the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee:
Senator Debbie Stabenow

Vice Chair of the Conference: Senator Elizabeth Warren

Vice Chair of the Conference: Senator Mark Warner

Chair of Steering Committee: Senator Amy Klobuchar

Chair of Outreach:
Senator Bernie Sanders

Vice Chair of the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee:
Senator Joe Manchin

Senate Democratic Conference Secretary: 
Senator Tammy Baldwin



Ranking Members for the 115th Congress

Senator Debbie Stabenow

Armed Services:
Senator Jack Reed

Senator Patrick Leahy

Senator Sherrod Brown

Senator Bernie Sanders

Senator Bill Nelson

Senator Maria Cantwell

Environment & Public Works:
Senator Tom Carper

Senator Ron Wyden

Foreign Relations:
Senator Ben Cardin

Health, Education Labor & Pensions:
Senator Patty Murray

Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs:
Senator Claire McCaskill

Indian Affairs:
Senator Tom Udall

Senator Dianne Feinstein

Senator Amy Klobuchar

Small Business:
Senator Jeanne Shaheen

Veterans Affairs:
Senator Jon Tester

Senator Bob Casey

Senator Chris Coons

Senator Mark Warner

Joint Economic Committee:
Senator Martin Heinri

For questions or comments on this broadcast please contact Jennifer Parisien at  or (202) 558-8040.