Four Appointed  to Tribal Treasury Advisory Committee


Four Appointed to Tribal Treasury Advisory Committee

December 22, 2015

The Tribal General Welfare Exclusion Act of 2014 (P.L. 113-168) was signed into law by the President last September and requires the establishment of a seven-member Tribal Treasury Advisory Committee (TTAC). The TTAC is an open advisory committee that is subject to the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The committee members have a broad mandate to "advise the Secretary on matters relating to the taxation of Indians."

The Secretary of the Treasury appoints three of the seven TTAC representatives with Congress selecting the remaining four members. The Secretary of the Treasury, Jacob J. Lew and the Ranking Member of the House Ways & Means Committee, Congressman Sander "Sandy" Levin (D-MI), announced their appointments on Monday, December 21, 2015. The remaining three appointees will be made by the Chairman of the Ways and Means Committee and the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Finance.

NAFOA would like to congratulate the following TTAC appointees that will represent Indian Country in advising the Secretary of Treasury on Indian tax matters, IRS training, and other pressing issues. 

Secretary of Treasury Jacob J. Lew Appoints Three to TTAC

Ron Allen, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe  
Mr. Allen has served as Tribal Chairman since 1977 and as CEO since 1982. Under his leadership the Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe transitioned from a landless reservation base to a land base of over 1200 acres, and established several business enterprises.  Mr. Allen was President of the National Congress of American Indians from 1995-1999.  

Lacey Horn, Treasurer of the Cherokee Nation
Ms. Horn has served as the top financial executive of the Cherokee Nation since 2011.  In 2014 NAFOA named Ms. Horn its Tribal Executive Officer of the Year.  She previously worked at KPMG as a Senior Audit Associate in Financial Services, and in the Internal Audit and Tax Departments of Hunt Oil.

Lynn Malerba, Lifetime Chief of the Mohegan Tribe
Chief Malerba was appointed the traditional leader of the Mohegan Tribe in 2010.  She is a member of several federal advisory committees, including the Indian Health Service Tribal Self Governance Advisory Committee.  Ms. Malerba has also served as Mohegan Tribal Council Chairwoman and as a member of the Board of Directors for the Mohegan Sun and Pocono Downs Casinos. 

Ranking Member of Ways & Means Sandy Levin Appoints Congressional Appointee

Eugene Magnuson, Treasurer for the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians
Mr. Magnuson, as Tribal Treasurer, has maintained an active role in the tribe's economic activity for several years. He has also served as Chairman of the Mno-Bmadsen Economic Development Board for the Pokagon Tribe since 2009. Prior to his service with the Pokagon Tribe, Mr. Magnuson gained valuable experience in a wide range of business environments, including grocery stores, hospitals, retail, food service, and gaming.

NAFOA would like to congratulate the appointees and wish them well in serving the interests of Indian Country in this new and important role that will be influential in improving jurisdiction and sovereignty.